Dublin Theatre Festival


Brian Friel

Brian Friel was born in Co Tyrone in 1929. His short story collections are A Saucer of Larks and The Gold in the Sea. He has edited The Last of the Name (Memoirs of a Donegal Tailor).

His plays are The Enemy Within (Abbey Theatre, Dublin, 1962); Philadelphia Here I Come! (Gaeity Theatre, Dublin, 1964); The Loves of Cass Maguire (Helen Hayes Theatre, New York, 1966); Lovers (Gate Theatre, Dublin, 1967); Crystal and Fox (Gaiety Theatre, 1968); The Mundy Scheme (Olympia Theatre, Dublin, 1971); The Freedom of the City (Abbey Theatre, 1973); Volunteers (Abbey Theatre , 1975); Living Quarters (Abbey Theatre, 1977); Aristocrats (Abbey Theatre, 1979); Faith Healer (Longacre Theatre, New York, 1979); Translations (by Field Day Theatre in The Guildhall, Derry, 1980); Three Sisters (by Field Day Theatre in The Guildhall, Derry, 1981); The Communication Cord (by Field Day Theatre in The Guildhall, Derry, 1982); Fathers and Sons (Lyttleton Theatre, London, 1987); Making History (by Field Day Theatre in the Guildhall, Derry, 1988); Dancing At Lughnasa (Abbey Theatre, 1990); The London Vertigo (Andrews Lane Theatre, Dublin, 1992); Wonderful Tennessee (Abbey Theatre, 1993); Molly Sweeney (Gate Theatre, 1995); Give Me Your Answer, Do! (Abbey Theatre, 1997).

He is a member of Aosdána, and lives in Co Donegal.



Uncle Vanya

Uncle Vanya

Hedda Gabler

Molly Sweeney

twitter facebook youtube
website by FUSIO