Dublin Theatre Festival


Sebastian Barry

Sebastian Barry is a major, internationally-renowned playwright and novelist. 
His plays include The Pentagonal Dream (1986, Damar Theatre, Dublin), Boss Grady’s Boys (1988), Prayers of Sherkin (1990, Peacock Theatre), White Woman Street (1992, Bush Theatre), The Steward of Christendom (1995), Our Lady of Sligo (1998, Royal Court, Out of Joint), The Only True History of Lizzie Finn (1995), Hinterland (2002), a translation of Lorca’s The House of Bernarda Alba (2003, Abbey Theatre) and Whistling Psyche (2004, Almeida Theatre).

His awards include the BBC/Stewart Parker Trust Award, the Christopher Ewart-Biggs Memorial Prize, the Ireland/America Literary Prize, the Critics' Circle Award for Best New Play, the Writers' Guild Award, the Lloyds Private Banking Playwright of the Year Award and the Peggy Ramsay Play Award, as well as nominations for the Olivier Award and Man Booker Prize. Sebastian has also published several works of poetry and fiction, including the novel The Whereabouts of Eneas McNulty (Picador 1998), and Annie Dunne (Faber and Faber 2002). His novel A Long Long Way (Faber and Faber) won the Kerry Group Fiction Award, was short listed for the Booker Prize 2005 and the International Impac Dublin Literary Award, and was the selected title of the 2007 Dublin: One City, One Book initiative of Dublin City Council


The Pride of Parnell Street

The Only True History of Lizzie Finn

Tales of Ballycumber

twitter facebook youtube
website by FUSIO